Photofabulous!!

By Ilaria

A tribute to all Health Workers.......

I have thought about writing this blip a long time, and always changed my mind. But tonight seems fitting and I want to write it. This is part personal and part tribute, so it may not be everyone's cup of tea.... But people need to be aware... More aware....

Tonight, after 6 months of various blood tests, I finally got 'all clear' results back on those tests. What were they for????

Back, just a few days before Christmas, I was assaulted by a patient who was Hepatitis C positive. A deliberate assault... The patient had been determined to try and infect a member of staff for some time. Who knows why??!! We never will. Anyway, that led to a long and at times scary 6 months.

You go through phases... Denial... It wasn't that serious!! Anger, etc...


Then the day I got my most important bloods taken, I had my first 'flare' of abdominal pain back in April. The doctors thought it was my Gall bladder, but since my liver function was abnormal, they were concerned! The Hep C bloods came back negative though... I breathed a sigh of relief, and an Ultrasound did indeed show up Gallstones!! I thought it was behind me.... Apparently these second blood results are most important.

Then last week I took ill again big style!! I had only just had my 3rd and final Hep C bloods taken that day!! Last night, for the first time ever, I came onto the receiving end of the Doctor with the 'bad news' face!!!! When no stone showed up on my MRI scan, he was concerned.....that if this was not a stray gallstone causing my repeated abnormal liver tests.... Then the only other answer was that I now indeed had Hep C!!! Last night was
NOT a good night!! I cried and snivelled through most of it!! And paced about today.... Waiting.

Anyway..... As I said..... Thank God the results are indeed negative. And I'm heading (hopefully) to theatre for sure tomorrow!!

Why am I writing this???????

Certainly NOT as a tribute to myself. I'm a nurse cause I love it.... I reckon I was born to nurse!! It part of who I am...
But I've had to declare the Hep C potential risk many times recently... And I've heard so many similar stories. Although often scares were because of accidental needle stick injuries, despite every precaution. So I want to write this to highlight the risk people in Health care put themselves at.... As a tribute to that!!

At the moment I'M the patient.... And it's made me more and more aware of how much people risk to do the job!! I get tired of all the negative press I read in papers and magazines about hospitals and hospital workers!! Frankly, the overwhelming slant towards the negative really does my nut in!!!!!!!!

So this is the POSITIVE press... I tell you... I've met a good few heroes in my time!! I could write a few stories about them too!! So let's all be thankful today for everyone who works in Health Care!! Yes there are bad stories.... But there are a million more good ones!!!!!


SO......




3 Cheers!!!!!!! :-))))))))))))))




This is for all health workers... Every one a small hero for doing this job in the first place.... And many being HUGE heroes.... Totally dedicated despite some really hard and scary times..........



I for one appreciate you!!!!!!!!!!!! :-))))))))





Can I also say a special thankyou for hitting the Spotlight yesterday again!! :-)))
And apologise for not commenting today!! Will catch up soon!! :-)))


















Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.