Teachers make little ones count

How many of you remember your infant school days? I have very fond memories of mine at Gaer Infants in Newport. I particularly remember the ful size papier mache crocodile we made which sat all year underneath the blackboard.

I teach Year 2 children (7 year olds) which means that this week is their last week at infant school and they will move up to juniors in September. My reasons for becoming a teacher were many - I trained when I was 30 - but the main reason was to be a positive influence at the beginning of children's lives and give them their own 'crocodile' memories.

So this week we've sewn bookmarks for them to use at junior school and made some pots to hold paperclips or something else useful!!! They probably won't last long but hopefully the memories will last longer.

It's a hard thing to leave the security of infant school and hard for us to see them go. Have already had a present which reduced me to tears. May blip that tomorrow or Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.