Mr Ben

By SteveCatchBacon

Court Out

This panorama was put together using the Pano App on the iPhone from images taken today on my way home from Keighley Court. I've sat as a Justice of the Peace there for the past 10 years or so. Although I've lived quite a way away for the past 4 years I've chosen to stick with what I know. The journey can be a bit of a bind in winter but at this time of year it is a real pleasure.

The road is Bingley Road and the view is looking back, South West round to North West just before the road starts to drop towards Menston. I also used to commute form Silsden to Leeds, for about 16 years, and sometimes would choose this road and the other moor roads, in preference to either the Aire or Wharfe valley routes.

Keighley Court sits at Bingley but not for much longer. As part of the 'rationalisation' of Her Majesty's Courts Service (recently diluted further to Her Majesty's courts and Tribunal Service) Keighley is to be merged with Bradford in December this year. At that point I'll transfer to somewhere else as the commute into Bradford would be a nightmare. That or else resign. The supposed consultations took no heed of what JPs thought or the impact on witnesses and defendants travelling miles with little or no resources. Bitter? Moi?

This area holds so many memories, both good and bad, I could go on and on e.g. When I lived in Ilkley we had a running club and sometimes we'd get dropped off on this road and run home across the moors, via The 12 Apostles. Baildon Moor is also in shot (Leftish) and there was a time I lived in a static caravan there but that's another story...............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.