People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Waste NOT!!!

This is your last chance to see the graduate student housing at one prominent southern institution of higher learning. Judging by the aesthetics, they were probably constructed in the early eighties, maybe. Unless I am very much mistaken, there was nothing wrong with them. They are being demolished and will be likely replaced by dorm towers, build to last two decades or so, only to be torn down and replaced again. The site has been leveled. I see some evidence of some metal possibly being collected from the demolition for recycling. The rest will likely end up in a landfill (though I would be delighted to hear I am wrong).

A university parking lot near my house has been partially re-asphalted last summer. I can't remember there being a problem with it in the first place. The re-surfacing was botched up, and had to be redone just weeks later. There is more work done to the same strip of asphalt this summer. A perfectly good asphalt parking lot at the university bookstore has been torn down to be replaced by a parking lot paved with concrete. The gentlemen working on the project were unable to answer what was the reason for the replacement.

I don't understand how it all works. I am very bothered by needless resource overuse, by constant replacing rather than doing it right and out of high-quality materials using high quality craftsmanship in the first place. I feel powerless and frustrated. I teach (and preach) sustainability to my students daily, as do my colleagues in the landscape architecture and architecture departments. While we are able to engage the kids with wonderful projects like the Heritage Museum, we are drowning in examples of what NOT to do, with new ones popping up daily.

I understand the university has a number of facilities employees who need work or will loose their jobs. I don't want any harm to come to them. Surely, there must be a better way to go about the construction/maintenance of the campus grounds.

I promise a VERY cheerful blip tomorrow. Maybe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.