Five things

By fivethings

Making, doing and mending

1. I made a new headboard with the fabric I bought yesterday. It was a lot of fun and no where near as simple as I wanted to be. Like a lot of things (this photo, or actually, my kitchen) nothing was straight, but it makes me smile.

2. I had lunch at the little cafe across the road and while I waited I got chatting to the owner, who used to be the drummer in Simple Minds. Everything is about those guys these days. Honestly, you don't think about a band for years then, woof, they are everywhere. There's a joke in there about rolls (drum rolls) but I just can't tease it out.

3. I live in a street with a newly formed community group and they are organising a street party. I remember saying to myself that I must get involved when the first sign went up and never did. Today, I noticed a new flyer and now what with one thing and another, I am talks co-ordinator. I don't particulary enjoy being talks co-ordinator in my own job - and I get paid for that - so god knows why I am doing this, but I'm sure it'll be fun. Right?

4. The sixties folding chairs got their first coat of primer today ready for the bright red and pink that's coming their way. From a distance they look really great but up close you can see all the layers of paint thats been applied (pretty badly) over the years. There's dried in drips and drops and the lines could be smoother. I consider sanding them before I start. I don't. They are better this way. I'm not after perfection

5. Today I feel like I've made a little, done a little and mended, a little.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.