Ionnature

By ionnature

Betty Ford, 1918 - 2011

Betty was the wife of our 38th President, Gerald Ford, but she was so much more. In the White House from 1974-1977, Betty was a very candid, out-spoken First Lady and was noted for her support of women's issues.

She went public with her breast cancer and addiction problems, and helped shine a light on topics that were previously taboo for public discussion.

On July 14, she was buried next to her husband on the Ford Presidential Museum grounds. So hats off to Betty, a remarkable woman.

In June 2010, I blipped the Ford Museum from the side so here is that view:
Ford Museum

Yesterday's blip was a little awkward to comment on, as I knew it would be, but I couldn't pass up the chance to blip the machine. And hey, today I gave you the tie-in to Betty so I hope that makes up for it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.