Bobs Photos of Freo

By sommervl

Fremantle Fog

I came home late last night with the street gradually being engulfed by a thin fog. Within minutes it was thick accompnied by an orange glow from the city. I grabbed a camera and went to the highest point nearby overlooking the port and city and started shooting the beautiful light. In about 30 mins the normally very brightly lit harbour had vanished apart from just 5 pin pricks of light from the highest, most powerful lamps. It looked as if the power was cut to the whole city except at the memorial where I was shooting from - and the gloom coupled with an eerie silence with the occasional "clang" of scrap metal being loaded was quite beautiful.

When I took this just a few minutes after midnight it had eased to a beautiful glow as lights strained through the mist back to me. There are many beautiful images both here and at the river a short time later but this selection I think is especially ghostly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.