Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The Line-up

These are some of my pictures lined up against the book case and ready to be hung. My phone and internet service have now been connected in the new apartment, and I feel I've been away for WEEKS. Has it really all happened in just three days? Astonishing.

I just back-blipped the boxes as Reyes placed them neatly on my old rug in the new place. Now all are unpacked. All books shelved. I should get a Blip of my superbly well-organized linen closet as organized by a dear friend who made a work of art of my towels and T-shirts. Maybe that's for tomorrow.

I think it has been splendid weather the past couple of days, but all I can see is sun-dapple through green leaves. The sky is green, the air is green. The breeze through the windows has been cool (60s and 70s F, teens and low 20s C) and green. I think the light in this new place will be green till the trees turn to gold. And what will that be? I want to see it. Last night I lay awake watching new shadows ripple across a new ceiling, as street light danced through the leaves. First time I ever saw those shadows. I wonder how long I will watch them, and if we will become intimate friends.

When I stand up, it takes me three steps forward to unbend my back. I'll be hitting the ibuprofen tonight. But I'm in. It is bliss looking around me at all my old things in new directions. A new beginning. My life has been rich with them, and each one feels more privileged than the last. I am so grateful for Social Security and for subsidized housing, which means I no longer have to work for a living, and yet I'm not dead yet, so there's a little time left...for a little more writing, for a few more more chances to wake up, for a few more surprises. How wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.