Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Structural confusion

I was on airport duty again today. I got a call from my Budapest friend saying he was on his way back and was at the airport with lots of time to spare. He'd been over once again to see his mother in hospital and to discuss the future with his siblings. He was in tears as we hugged, and told me his mother had finally been diagnosed. She has a history of unexplained falls, has been suffering from badly shaking hands for some time, and has been in hospital for the past three months following her most recent incident. Finally, after several tests and three months' hospital care, she has been diagnosed with PSP, which is described as being in an advanced state. She's been given six to eight months to live.

Understandably, poor Michael was in a bit of a bad state. We chatted, I did what I could to provide an understanding ear and a friendly shoulder for him to cry on, we gradually shifted the conversation onto memories of better times, and he was in better form by the time he moved in to the Departures area and we parted. I was just walking out to the car park when a voice beside me said 'Security. Can you come with us please.' It was one of the guys from my Music Group, heading off for a week in Germany to suss out a possible spot to buy property. We had a coffee, indulged in some friendly banter, he in turn went in to the departures area, and I got back home around 3.00 pm.

I spotted this weird pattern of light spillage as we came down the escalator from coffee area to Departure gate and went back up to blip it. I can't figure out what the architect/engineer had in mind when they came up with this strange-looking arrangement of structural steelwork. It makes for some interesting surfaces in terms of light-catching, but I doubt if that's why they did it: the combination of horizontal beams and disconnected sloping roof above looks very, very strange -- but then again, I've already expressed my profound distaste for the sad mess which is Dublin Airport, so the confusion doesn't really surprise me in the slightest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.