PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Peacock

Could spend all evening dithering over which photo to blip today, as we spent the day at Paignton Zoo. But, too tired to dither longer, I decided it's got to be the peacock as he was so proudly posing for my camera. And also he represents my joy in birds ...

Good news: the swallows' eggs have hatched today! Or some have, at the very least. When I came home one parent was in the nest and, far from flying away, its partner arrived and promptly filled the two darling little beaks that popped up into sight: so tiny! I longed to hover and gaze, but was strong-willed enough to carry on through the front door, and close it behind me. So thrilled, though, that the eggs have hatched at last.

I blipped one of their first brood over a month ago. Perhaps I shall get a chance to snap some of the new babies anon.

Meanwhile, if I could return to the zoo every day, then you'd get to see flamingoes, zebras, monkeys, elephants, giraffes, alligators, meercats, cheetahs, camels - including 3-month-old Oscar - to name but a few of the creatures I photographed today, in lovely warm sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.