Framing the Fort

By TheHairyCoo

Bench of Sighs

This bench sees a lot of traffic; it's just outside the Life Sciences building, so sunny days see students & healthcare workers enjoying a few minutes of sunshine.

But it's not all smiles.

First thing in the morning, as I walk into work, it often has a very different clientele; there's nothing close to a smile on their lips as they sit staring into the middle distance. They've had little sleep and are exhausted.

These are the people who have relatives in the hospital. I find it hard to see their pain - goodness alone knows how they must feel. I'd love to make everything better for them...and, occasionally, I do get a chance to help....but more often than not I don't.


No matter how many cheerful students I see using this bench, it remains a sad place. The fear & sorrow have seeped into the wood.

I've tried to capture the melancholy air But using an old-fashioned lens effect, turning the contrast up and the exposure down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.