Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Whetted on thy Stone-Hard Heart

"Whose hand soever lanc'd their tender hearts,
Thy head, all indirectly, gave direction:
No doubt the murderous knife was dull and blunt
Till it was whetted on thy stone-hard heart,
To revel in the entrails of my lambs."


- Queen Elizabeth, in King Richard III, by William Shakespeare

Today I found out that, to the media at least, a celebrity's untimely death is more important than a terrorist (the fact he's blonde-haired, blue-eyed, and not a Muslim, does not mean he isn't a terrorist) killing over 80 teenagers for some warped political reason - and another 10 or so as a distraction, it appears.

In relation to the Oslo shooter/bomber, I found once again that whenever someone does something awful that (by its awful nature) seems incomprehensible to most of us, people are only too ready to pronounce the perpetrator "mad", "insane", "delusional", "crazy" and so on. I have read some of his "manifesto", by the way, and it reads like a fanatic, not someone (overtly) psychiatrically ill. He might be, of course, but I get really annoyed when the assumption is made, when there is as yet no evidence for that being the case.

I also found out that (in relation to Winehouse) people love to find or make up specious patterns (this "27 club" nonsense that doesn't survive even the most cursory sceptical thought).

And with both, I found (again) that some people are scum - as both were used almost immediately in Facebook scams.

I don't know what this flower in our garden is, but I liked the purpleness of it. Here it is large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.