So this is life... !

By bryanml

The Viewing

Some kind of sad news, my grandfather has passed away at the young age of 78. Today was his viewing. In Chinese culture (according to my father), it is a no-no to take pictures of a dead relative. But that was after the fact I took the shot.

It was an interesting feeling see my grandfather laying in his coffin. I did not feel sad, nor did I feel angery, upset, or regretful. I felt that it was his time to go and realized that it happens to each and every one of us. Do I accpet death? Yes. But will I be fearless in the clutches of it? I'm not so sure. Maybe thats what we need to work towards -- not being afraid of death and come to terms with it. I am not quite sure how I am "supposed" to feel about this but I never did have an emotional attatchment and never had a real conversation with him (because of the language barrier). I pray that his journey to another world is peaceful.

Love you Ye-ye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.