David J. Rose

By djrose007

Chance of a Lifetime

Dozing around on a glorious day after Sunday dinner I said 'I'm going to take a drive to Staverton airport to see the repainted nose of the Vulcan at The Flying Shack'

When I got there a chap from the Jet Age Museum was also there, with his wife, working on the section preparing it for the Flying Shack BBQ on Saturday 30th. He remembered me from the Vulcan to the Sky visit to the museum workshop and - I couldn't believe it - asked if I wanted to go up inside!

This, for me, really is the chance of a lifetime. The last time I sat in a Vulcan cockpit was 1969 at RAF Masirah, Oman. That was an operational aircraft but it was 42 years ago!

The condition inside is amazing considering what the nose section has been through including lying around doing nothing for the past 7 years. Some condensation damage but many of the controls still move, although there's no ailerons, rudder or engines to react to the controls of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.