The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Abbotsley Scarecrow Festival

Every year a local village holds a Scarecrow Festival where lots of the residents join in and put a themed scarecrow in their garden.

When I say scarecrow, I mean some form of sculpture incorporating straw (except for the ironic one by a resident who painted a box as a TV set and had a picture of Wurzel Gummidge on it but no straw in sight) and many require an appended label to give a clue as to what it is and how it fits in with the theme.

This year the theme was Television and of all the ones we saw, the above large scale effort of SpongeBob Squarepants was my favourite and seemed to have required the greatest amount of effort.

The festival is a fundraiser for the village hall so I hope they did well but in any event, it was a good way to kill a couple of hours on a Sunday afternoon while people had fear in their eyes due to a bright shining object in the sky. I swear it must have been an alien spacecraft as I have a slight redness on my head that is otherwise unexplained.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.