One of five a day

By KiloRomeo

A bird in hand

I spent the day effecting repairs to the roof guttering. My practice at handling heights from last night's mountaineering expedition came in handy as I was practically on the top step of the ladder for several hours.

And I cut the grass too ...more brownie points for that...

Afterwards, I sat on the decking wondering what today's blip might look like when I heard sounds from the greenhouse. I saw some movement, but it took me a little while to realise that it was a little bird in distress. It had got into the greenhouse, but the amount of glass confused it and it didn't know how to get out.

Responding to 999 call (that will be 911 for my American blipmates), I went in for the rescue.

When I managed to pick it up, its heartbeat was off the scale. So instead of letting it go, I held it and stroked it for a while. I could feel it relaxing and its heartbeat calmed down.

Just as I was about to let it go, I realised I quite literally, that I had a bird in hand ...or even a blip in hand. I called Miss KiloRomeo in Newcastle, who suggested I name it 'Blip'.

So I took a couple of one handed shots of Blip (my camera is never too far) ...nell2803, you listening? (see large) And then I let Blip fly away chirping happily (I'd like to think).

An admission, I don't really know what kind of bird Blip is, other than it is a baby. I'm guessing it is a sparrow. Perhaps you can tell me if you see its tail feathers

To put a twist on a witticism ...its wildlife photography Jim, but not as we know it. :))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.