thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Great Western Steam

Apologies to emyjane - I just changed the blip I uploaded earlier.

I can't help myself, I have a bit of a thing about steam engines. So when I heard one whistling at lunchtime today, and S kindly went on-line and established that the Weymouth Seaside Express would be coming back through Dorchester West at 1823, hauled by Great Western Railway 5029 Nunney Castle, I knew I had to go and see it.

Unfortunately at 1820 we were still eating so I excused myself and headed out. As I shut the front door I could hear a steam engine chuffing laboriously up the incline from Weymouth. It's a two-minute walk to the bridge at the end of the road, but I ran most of it and got there in time to see a plume of smoke go under the bridge and emerge the other side. Heedless of traffic I raced across the road and fired up the camera to catch this shot as it retreated.

The other picture was of Portland Harbour, but wasn't great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.