Journey Through Time

By Sue

Hughes Water Garden

Bill and I went to Hughes Water Garden which is south of Portland out in the country. This is a photographer's paradise. Water lilies are very photogenic and you'd have to be a total ignoramus not to take at least one good photo of these lilies. Well, I got some pretty nice shots, if I do say so myself, and I must say this was terribly difficult to decide which one to put up here. Thank goodness I can add extra photos on here now.

I chose this image because it looked so much like a painting to me. I liked the color and the reflective water.

It was quite a warm day. We went last year at this same time as this is a special weekend featuring artwork, and it was the hottest day of the year and it was quite muggy, too. I remember it well! So, this year...not quite as hot, and not near as muggy, thankfully. But in the area where they have these large tanks filled with water, that is dyed by the way, which makes it highly reflective, it gets quite uncomfortable pretty darn fast. The Garden Center is so nice to give out free water.

If you live anywhere close, I highly recommend you go and check it out. Right now there are lots of lilies in bloom. Hurry!

I hope you have time to take a look.
Water Lily 1
Water Lily 2
Water Lily 3
Water Lily 4
Stretching it's wings
Dragonfly
Water Lily 5

And I almost forgot this one, which almost was my first choice.

Lily Number 6

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.