Walker's Daily

By Bremenpics

Honeybee

Butterflies seem to be very rare this year- I blame the awful weather we're enjoying at Bremen this summer. But the butterfly- bush is alive with bees instead, so I choose to blip them. I've read an article in the local newspaper recently that said bees are beginning to move into cities because they're finding more food there. One- crop agriculture seems to harm them. There's a lot of rapeseed [Brassica napus] grown in North Germany now but it's only in bloom for a very short time. This means, honeybees could be starving in the middle of summer because there aren't enough flowers left in the countryside!

The nutritional valuable rapeseed oil is then turned into biodiesel while there are approximately 1 billion hungry people in this world.

I think I need a cup of tea now.


More Bremen bees:
Sunflower July 2010
March Equinox March 2011
Bumblebee June 2011


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.