Belle's Journal

By belle

Two kids walk into a library...

I know, sounds like the beginning of a joke, right? Unfortunately, it happened to me on Sunday. Two kids walked into my library, while I'm working the Reference Desk, and hand this little guy over to me. They tell me they've "rescued him" and want me to take care of him. I guess they got the word librarian confused with veterinarian, I don't know.

Anyway, come to find out that the kids decided this duck needed saving even though he was with his brothers and sisters. Momma duck wasn't around, so they scooped him up and brought him to the library. Because I was unable to find his Momma anywhere (one of my co-workers got in her car and drove around looking for ducks), he is now with a wildlife rehabilitator that I found after much searching and phoning on Monday.

This is a much shorter version of the story. I'm still very steamed at the kids. And, not knowing anything about ducks or what they eat (there's a lot of misinformation out there on the Internet, folks), I stressed out about the little thing for 24 hours and made myself sick before someone (licensed wildlife rehabber) finally called me back and said they could take him.

He/she is a wood duck. This was taken right before I brought him to the rehabber. He is smaller than my hand. A tiny little thing. And I fell in love with him in those 24 hours I had him. I actually miss him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.