My Mini Adventure

By JJ46

Shredding. Lots.

Spent the best part of today shredding. About 4 hours of shredding. Using two shredders alternately as each one overheated intermittently.

"What on earth takes that long to shred?" I hear you ask.

Well, I have had a very large box of letters in the loft for about 10 years containing letters and cards I have received from friends since I was about 11 years old.

Today was the day the they had to go... part of de-cluttering my house and life.

I tried really hard not to read the letters before shredding them, but some of them couldn't help but be read... like the one from my late Nan who was cutting out tokens from the newspaper and sending them to me at college, and the get well cards that were sent to me while I was in hospital in 1994. Also looked at letters from my Japanese friend when she moved back to Tokyo in 1984 when we started Secondary School. Oh my goodness.

I even found, much to N's surprise, some letters he had sent me about 16 years ago! We didn't embarrass him by reading them out loud!

Feels a bit odd to have shredded them. But, in all honesty, why was I keeping them?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.