The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Low flying

I'm even later than usual uploading this evening as I came home from a walk over Arnside Knott to find Wifie had locked me out. I had had another fruitless search for the Scotch Argus butterflies, perhaps it was a little too late in the day for them to be flying.

So today's blip was taken at lunchtime. It had never occurred to me that there is a macro blip mine right on the doorstep at work. The footpath along the beck is fringed by hogweed and other tall herbs, and these are attracting numerous hoverflies and other insects.

I was quite pleased with this head on shot of a hoverfly coming into land on a hogweed umbel. I've pushed it to the limit with ISO and enlargement, so it's a bit on the grainy side.

Tomorrow's a significant blip day, and after that there will be changes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.