Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

New Harbor Seals

"OK Mom, I?ve had quite a lot to eat now, how about we go for a swim?" ... and then it proceeded to slide into the water. But Mom just kept on watching Junior from her rock, and Junior finally got back up.

This morning I kept hearing a baby seal crying all morning... so I had to pop in my dory with the camera and just hang out by their rocks, watching. There was this pair, contentedly nursing and mostly ignoring me - altho I do have a shot of both of them looking right at me, and lots of the nursing. (so hard to choose!) And there was another pair, the noisy one, who barked with his nose underwater -kind of a gurgle cry. Mom was there but she didn't seem to want to cuddle right then and even seemed to be scolding it. I think there was a 3rd pair mostly in the water. I love this time of year, they are so fun to watch --I think these are not much more than a week old as I was looking before I left for a week. I'll keep track of these --they do look different from one another....

There is so much to photograph here --I love it Our neighbor across the bay flew in and out twice in his helicopter while I was out there ---it's a sight to see. Fortunately he doesn't fly here too often anymore and I don' t want to encourage him by blipping it! :-) Later some friends came sailing in on their genoa making for a nice shot- they come every year and I've never seen them actually sailing. They will spend the night at our dock... and cook dinner for us, in our kitchen. Nice.

But the wildlife wins out for the blip, almost always.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.