Gothic Trees

A clear morning with a strong nor'wester that had sucked the moisture out of the air. Everything was dry and frozen. There was no visible frost, but the grass crackled underfoot. The ridges of mud crumbled into dust.

Since the car was almost ice-free I decided to take a quick trip to catch the sunrise reflected on the mountains. But when I reached a good spot there was a murky haze in the atmosphere that made the mountains look grubby.

I decided to photograph these trees instead. They are relatively old trees that have grown in a place that gets frequent gales. This view is upwind. From this angle you can't see how much they lean.

While I was there a strange thing happened. A small animal ran out towards me. I thought it was a wee dog, but it stopped when it saw me and I realised that it was a baby wild pig! It was gone in a moment and I didn't get a shot of it. I was so surprised. Everything seems so domesticated around here.

In large you might see the moon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.