Crisp and crunchy

There is nothing like snow and ice to start the day. Stellar :-)

The university postphoned opening until 11am. Time to work out on the swiss ball then.

How about I poke my nose out the door and see what it's like? Oh, and while I'm at it trot out with the wheelie bins. Why not indeed. I'm only dressed in an odd assortment of old shorts I've tramped in and painted the fence, a ripped thermal and a Brains t-shirt from the Thunder Birds. Then there are the bare legs and beanie and old gloves...

Why not indeed? The rubbish trucks haven't got a snow balls chance in hell of getting down the street and it's on minus zillion.

So I did. I wrestled both wheelie bins across frozen snow and ice as slick as well, ice.

You'll be pleased to know I added warm pants, socks, gloves and down jacket. My crampons wouldn't have gone amiss on the slither down to the park.

It was worth it. So cold, crisp and glorious. There are no broken bones. I didn't fall. And that was a problem today. The snow between my house and garage was treacherous with several cm's of ice on top. My road is small and not used much. Several cars were abandoned this morning.

The combination of snow, ice and black ice put me off and I worked from home today. Late in the day I did get my car out. It was a mission and tonight most of the snow is still on my roof, around the house and on the road.

The rubbish trucks came early afternoon. Unable to get to the curb the driver stopped at each address, got out of his cab slithered both bins into the street. He then emptied his bin (leaving the other bin for his mate's truck still on the way). Later when I ventured out to get a couple of things I watched another truck sliding yet determined to empty bins. Neither snow or earthquakes stop these guys.

The snow is lovely and even earthquake damage looks beautiful with snow on it (the icing on the quake ;-) It's very tough for people with damaged homes.

Check out this NASA satellite image of snow on NZ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.