Big boy

Well it's not pretty but it is pretty impressive!! I had a rather tasteful landscape lined up for today but plan B! I was just top and tailing gooseberries,as you do, when this enormous fella nearly ran over my feet. I hurtled to get my camera, scattering cats in all directions, and watched this gigantic creature rootling in the gravel. I think it must be an elephant hawkmoth pupa. It was colossal - about 4 inches - extraordinary.

Another beautiful day. I took a quick walk through fields hoping to head to Pebbly Beach - the cattle had got there first. I am a total wuss when it comes to cattle and they obviously found me a little too intriguing, so I left them to it. However, I have found another derelict house!! To venture in would definitely be trespassing and rather obvious so I think I will have to find someone to ask permission. I did leap over a gate and peer in though - it looks wonderful - everything is still there including the old table and settle. It's just over the road from Mary Bridget's but in much better condition. Watch this space.

Friends coming to supper tonight- I have just made the most gigantic veggie moussaka which we shall eat with a garden salad and pita bread. For pudding there is gooseberry fool. The gooseberries have been fantastic - they are small and dark red, but the thorns are mighty, I'm shredded. Will catch up later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.