Sense of Purpose

By brainfreeze

Olavinlinna (St. Olaf's Castle)

Today my parents and I visited the Art Centre Retretti in Punkaharju and the medieval Olavinlinna castle in Savonlinna. I hadn't been to Savonlinna in three years even though I live only one hour drive away. I can't even remember the last time I visited Retretti. I enjoyed both places very much. A large part of Retretti is situated in underground caves, which gives a whole new dimension to some of the works there. Unfortunately photography was forbidden in Retretti. In Olavinlinna, however, photography is allowed, so I took so many photos I was constantly falling behind from my guided tour group. :) Olavinlinna was founded in 1475 (some parts were built later, though), so there's a lot of history and stories behind those walls. According to wikipedia it's the northernmost medieval stone fortress still standing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.