sp33dway

By sp33dway

slant

took a few cheesy self portraits tonight for things a bit cheesy-self-portraity and it dawned on me when previewing the shots that I've probably not taken a single photo on my DSLR in anything other than raw mode for a couple of years now, and often more often than not I tend to take my best shots early on in a shoot - like 'within the first few' kind of early on - something that makes me feel assured and uneasy in equal measure (I think mainly because of the lack in self confidence I've had ever since I lost an egg and spoon race when I was six).

Received some fab news over the weekend though that was letterheadyconfirmed in writing today - two of my shots have been accepted into the NWPA exhibition in September :) I entered 9 prints a few months back, not expecting much other than some useful criticism and the odd nod or two that my photography could maybe be something in the making one day. I doubt it will open any doors for me just yet, but tagged onto the back of my recent inclusion in Cannes to say I'm sitting on cloud nine is playing it down a little.

And yet I find myself not smiling. Must be the self-doubter in me struggling to let go of those eggs and blasted spoons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.