Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Nostalgia

A little house straddles the library where we watch Mr Jesse sing Wheels on the bus, a moment in Callum's week which he looks forward to and, upon passing the library on any other occasion will cause him to become most distressed that today isn't actually Mr Jesse's day. And after, a short play in the beach playground, again that deliciousness of sand between our toes.

He peers through the white picket fence, that little longing for the chocolate box house and its well loved garden. I speak to the owner and she talks of her little oasis inside its walls. Back at home, Reuben reclines and I wonder what thoughts run through his head. He's a boy who often loves to just sit back and let things happen whilst he daydreams...

I decide that now is the time to cram in as much life as possible. Our trip away last week up the coast was just part of that. I want to see everything great there is to see. Were I back living in the UK and planning one of the scores of holidays I then took in California, I'd have been dreaming of national parks and hikes, capturing landscapes on film, wondering aimlessly by myself, lost in a sea of imagery and words. I want to see those places afresh now as if I have a limited time to conquer them all and the with my boys beside me, I just can't wait.

BackBlipped
Welcome to our World
and On Oxnard Shores...

PS I'll get a high quality version uploaded later or tomorrow as I know this is a little low res

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.