bluesheep

By bluesheep

dog watcher

Johnny the dog watcher asked me to "help him out" with some cash to buy a coffee. Sure, as long as I can take your portrait. The only bill I had that I was willing to part with was a one, so he said only one picture. Unfortunately he wouldn't look directly at the camera, and was moving his head around a lot, so it was hard to get a good shot (I only had my telephoto with me, which didn't help either)...and I only had one chance. I wish his eyes were open at least.

Johnny is pretty cool. He's not dirty and super-homeless like some others. He probably has a home somewhere. I've seen him many times watching dogs at the Sunday market on Main street. Many people trust him with their k9 companions as they wait in line for an omelette. Of course he had to tell me the whole story; how he used to watch bikes too until the city came in and decided to make it a much bigger operation and now their is whole hoard of bikes that they look after--too many for him to do anyway. I shook his hand. I got a portrait out of it. It was a good deal.

And though he was a bit reluctant when away from his dogs, he wants me to come by at the market and take pictures of him with the dogs he watches so he can make posters to advertise. So maybe you'll see him on blip again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.