Views of my world

By rosamund

Preparation

I am preparing to weave some plaid on my big loom. I'm following a book to learn the craft and when I saw the next assignment was to plan and weave a plaid I became distinctly nervous, I just couldn't imagine where to begin.

I spent a little time researching plaids and tartans on the Internet, got a basic idea I could follow and drew it out in my own colours and dimensions this morning.

Having solved the planning riddle I couldn't wait to take it to the next level and rummaged in the cupboard until I found suitable wool. Tonight I set about measuring the warp on the warping board and that's where I had to stop for tonight as the board is full but the loom still has something else on which I am now more motivated to finish quickly.

The yarn I am using is quite fine so there are going to be 452 ends to warp onto the loom so it will take a while! So far the main thing I have learned about weaving is that careful planning and preparation are paramount so hopefully the end result with be worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.