One Day Like This

By sennema

Count the pigeons

It was a lovely evening for a Blipwalk, but I ended up spending an hour in my own street! Not a problem: the light was perfect and I experienced that ruins are ever so photogenic. This is an old factory in our street. Up until the sixties it has been used for the dry cleaning of large textiles. The first building in this spot was there already in the early 18-hundreds (back then it was a gin distillery).

The architects who made a design for the re-use of the building asked our office (I do research for a company on heritage/architecture/planning issues) for advice on the historic value of the building, so I could spend some time in archives and the building itself to write it for them. We suggested they at least keep all facades, because they tell the story of the company so well (but as you can see, the insides are quite unstable...). The architect decided to do so, and next year it will be filled with offices, a cinema, an espresso bar and who knows what. It will definitely have great character! I plan to document the proceedings of the renewal, so I bet I will post a picture of the factory (which is actually a conglomerate of a lot of old buildings) sometime.

Right now, I thought this was such an endearing sight. The place is full of pigeons (and pigeon poo, too) because of all the broken windows. I saw this one pigeon, but discovered just now, watching and editing it on my computer, there are many more.

(I did wish I had a lens that would zoom more than my 18-55mm... Maybe as a treat to myself for my 100th Blip in less than 3 months?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.