must try harder

By halfcj

Late Night Fishing

Popped down to Poldhu Cove just as the sun was going down...only to find another photographer had bagged the best spot!...plus...he had all the equipment! Showed me up to be the amateur that I am! Just the one camera. One tripod. The cheap 70-300mm....but worse, I forgot my wellingtons! Rookie error!

Not, of course, that I minded getting wet feet. I was and am always prepared to suffer for my art :)

The sun settled to bed showering us with the warmth it had given us all day. It felt like it was retiring gracefully having put in a hard days work, but couldn't resist a passing reminder of how lucky we were to have met it today. So it shone in all it's red and orange glory as it slipped behind it's blanket of clouds on the distant horizon.

As it slipped away, I could see a group of young lads previously invisible to me hidden but the sun's harsh low light, starting to fish on the rocks. I was so jealous. I wanted to be them.

I could tell which was the local lad. He was preparing is rods, getting on with the task in hand. The others sat mesmerised by the beauty of the setting sun. This truly was Cornwall at it's best.

Very much better Large

PS - had to do a late backblip yesterday. Took the shot late, up early again to try and catch sunrise....drew a blank again!. Fog. Cloud. Shame!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.