The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne

I have no especial interest in Calne other than through the simple fact of having lived here since 1989. I have no family or roots in the town but was more or less blown here by circumstance. I still know relatively few people here and most of those are no more natives of the place than I.

Through having clicked away on my wanderings, I have posted up some 900 shots to the Calne Flickr group, and am now rather daunted to note that there are only some 1,300 pictures in the whole group. The official town website uses the group for its photo gallery, so it transpires most of those are also my pictures. There is a camera club in Calne but they evidently don't use Flickr. I have never set out out to document it, merely taken shots as and when I noticed anything, but now feel the weight of responsibility on my shoulders!

This shot of The Strand was taken from the end of the pedestrianised High Street. The lad on the pavement opposite is not waving at me, but gesticulating at something round the corner to the Gasoline girl as they approach the bank cash machine. The Lansdowne Strand Hotel has a new creamier look since it last changed hands and the building with the clock tower is the Town Hall.

Lens: Pentax 50-200mm

Day #490
Blip #488
Consecutive Blip #485

Alternative:
Shhhh... Cat On Guard
Poppies On The Driveway


365 days old: Majesty And Decay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.