Test Cake

Today I made the second test cake for an upcoming very special birthday. I made this one without the yolks so it would be a white cake. This was my first time ever baking a layer cake and icing two layers! Fun! And it's photographed from this angle so that you can't see that the top layer is slightly bigger than the bottom and the entire cake leans ever so slightly to the right. I have been so inspired by the many homemade birthday cakes I've see here on blip (they aren't that common of a site in the States - in fact, before blip I didn't think anyone made a birthday cake from scratch!) that I am now obsessed with the idea of making my own cakes for special occasions. We took this one to a BBQ with some of Mr. Apple's colleagues so that we didn't have to test the entire cake on ourselves like we did last time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.