East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Ricketty old bridge.

I had to go into Maclean this morning (about 10mins from home) and I decided I would take some photos of the McFarlane Bridge (named after early Scottish settlers to the area). It is over 100 yrs old (which is old to us in Oz) and consists of mainly Iron Bark timber beams. It connects Maclean to Woodford Island which is made up mostly of cane farms and other small acreages. The photo is taken from the island side looking back towards Maclean.

It's a very narrow one lane bridge and coming from the island side there is a Give Way area to squeeze into if you happen to encounter traffic coming from the other side and this happened to me this morning. I was part of the way onto the bridge when a BIG truck appeared from the other side so I squeezed into the give way area. I honestly thought I was going to get wiped out as it was that close a call. I closed my eyes and hoped for the best and survived but the old bridge rattled and shook - quite a unnerving experience especially as there is a big drop to the river and the water is very deep:(

I was tempted to have a scotch when I got home but was good and had a strong coffee instead. I probably should explain for non-aussies that in our neck of the woods we refer to whisky as "scotch". When we were in Scotland earlier this year I made sure to always ask for whisky, although when I asked for whisky and dry in a pub on our first day in Edinburgh, no one had I clue what I meant. I settled for whisky with a dash of water and very nice it was too. One of my favourite tipples, scotch and dry, is whisky with a dash of dry gingerale (I know the purists will shudder) but, after a few weeks on the other side of the world, I came to quite like it with just a drop of water :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.