"to notice"

By mnaylor

Leaf Shadows

Biking by the Federal Courthouse in downtown Seattle this afternoon, I noticed the strong whites and darks of the silhouetted leaves . Since I was stopped by a stoplight, I whipped out my camera and shot three different views. A slight breeze and the tremors of the shadows is delight!

When I was in Art School at UW there was a student who on the few spring sunny days there were, ran out of the art building with a large roll of paper to trace the outlines of the trees and shadows. She would lay the paper on the ground and start in - I never saw her do it, but I did see the work in final painting form and I know the story was true. I love the image of that gal flying across campus with a large roll of paper unfurled behind her, catching shadows!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.