Petalpixie

By Petalpixie

Slug off!

Another fab hot day. For the past week it really hasn't felt like Scotland. We don't get heat like this - it's such a treat.

We went canyoning this afternoon by the Brig O' Turk. What great fun. There was a group of 9 of us wading around like gorilla's, clambering over unseen rocks, sliding feet first into chutes and jumping from a power push stand into the waters below.

I nearly bottled the last jump. It was clearing the rock that was freaking me out. The instructor was great and just said - say fuck it twice - and just jump. So I did!

Came home and started making a slug demarcation line. Copper tape on the ground around the 5-teir thing with growing goodness inside. Then copper tape on the bottom of the plastic.

The best bit is the smashed up old red clay pots that I laid underneath with full on jags and spikes, in case the copper tape doesn't phase them. And then for good measure, I sprinkled some slug pellets that look like the baking hundreds and thousands. Surely I'll win the battle???!

Someone told me to put egg shells down, but don't they blow away??? So, the red clay pots is the same idea, a jaggy deterrent. Here's hoping anyway! Robin is shaking is head that I've become obsessed in my fight against slugs. Any other winning techniques, please share. I will eat something I've grown!

Over and out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.