W8man on the Web

By w8man

Classic Car, Common Driver.

Today I took a 48 year old MG B, little red classic out for a spin! I thought before hand that it would be a distinctly average experience. But the second the ignition key was turned, choke engaged and gas pedal pressed she ROARED to life and suddenly I was like a very small child in a very big sweetie shop.

With its original 1789cc engine and 1963 gearbox it made the kind of sound that made me want to find goggles, leather hat and a scarf and talk like a toff. If the attire had presented itself I would have worn it all without hesitation, with a big smile on my face.

I said to Dad after he let me take the wheel that it was like driving a spitfire. As I flicked the 'Overdrive' switch from straight to straight holding the wooden steering wheel taking on rural Yorkshire in glorious sunshine, it was indeed one of those 'special' moments.

A beauty. I want one. Happy Days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.