Starry Night over Clark Farm

This was a bit of an experiment -- the results are not perfect, but I'm mostly pleased for a first attempt. A beautiful night...not too hot, not too humid, a new moon, good company, and loads of beautiful stars.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that the star trails vary in color in the final image. Younger, hotter burning stars are those that are cooler or more bluish in color. Older, dying stars are those that are warmer or more reddish in color.

Bigger.
_______

Technical stuff: For this image, I stacked eight 4-minute exposures. Ideally, I would've made 20-30 exposures to stack, but my battery life, unfortunately, was less than ideal. I used a flashlight to light paint the barn, foreground, and trees to the right only in the first exposure. I used a 15 mm fisheye lens (to get lots of the sky) at f/4.0 (to get tons of stars), then corrected for distortion in post. That's why the circle around the north star is distorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.