Appertunity

By appertunity

The phrenologists ghost

This is a bit of an abstract / still life departure from my usual urban street shots.

It's an image of one of my favourite ornaments in my flat, a phrenologists head.

They were used to map the surface of the skull when it was believed that lumps & bumps related to the brains structure & thus various aspects of character.

It was a wonderful kooky pseudoscience & I like it as it reminds us to be wary not only of religions dogmas but those of science as well.

Science is a brilliant tool who's products are incalculable but occasionally it too can suffer from dogma (one early scientist once declared in response to evidence of meteorites "but there are no rocks in the sky!")

The celebrated author of early books on the paranormal - Charles Fort - on science:

If its tentacles were not clipped to stumps, it would feel its way into disturbing contacts.? - Charles Fort

and my favourite & one I live by (amongst others):

I conceive of nothing, in religion, science, or philosophy, that is more than the proper thing to wear, for a while.
? Charles Fort

That's why I still love the fringes of what we know, telepathy, ghosts, mystery beasts etc because they are needed to clip the tentacles of the beast & excesses of rationality.

I have a slight hangover today as my partner took me out for the night & we had a boogie, boogie wooogie!

I used the excellent PhotoStudio app to create an aged pencil sketch feel that gives it an air of mystery.

Hope you like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.