Random Musings

By RandomMusing

About 25 years in the making

No not the bag, but what is in the bag, if you look at it in a certain way.

When I eventually got to the stage of having some interest in what kind of clothes I could ware, I wanted a pair of Denim's. It being the 80's stone washed denim's were cool, and in the UK we had Nick Kamen advertising them. More specifically he advertised Levi's, and I wanted a pair.

There was no good reason to specifically wanting a pair of Levi's, I just figured that they were cool. I of course harangued my parents about waning Jeans (more specifically Levi's) and was told no, I was not having any be they Levi's or any other make. Eventually they relented and as a surprise my mum ordered me a pair of Jeans from her catalogue. Of course they were not Levi's, and worse even than that they were dark blue, not stone washed. I was both excited and gutted. A couple of years later I got a second pair, these were light coloured denims, and by definition much cooler because of that. Don't ask me why light coloured was better, I have no idea, they just were.

Eventually I had saved up some money, and we moved to somewhere that had a Levi's seconds shop, where they sold styles that were no longer made, or that were not perfect. Off I went to buy some, only to discover that there was no way I could afford them. Again more gutted and no more was said about it.

We are now more than a few years on from then and today, around about 25 years on from when I first wanted them, I purchased my first pair of Levi Jeans. They are not 501's (I don't even know if they still make them), and they are not stonewashed (thank god), but they are Levi's.

I know they they are not going to be any better than any other brand of jeans, I know that they cost more, but you know what else I know - they, (unlike Nick Kamen, and stone washing) are still cool and I am chuffed that I have a pair

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.