Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Hacking my kit

I know fellow blipers have bliped their cameras and tripods and things , especially when new goodies have arrived. For what its worth I thought I would blip my tripod head. I have hacked it and it's a real time saver. I was prompted to do this after my Early Man blip in Wiltshire.

When out doing panoramas I dump the tripod down, the ball head is easy to level then the panning knob (little one at the front) allows me to pan - except...the camera has to be level.

Levelling with the legs is a pain.

If however you hack your tripod head so it sits upside down - then the panning control is above the ball head and is already level. This hack also give me a nice big piece of metal to grip when composing the shot (instead of yanking on the camera) and I no longer suffer from a sagging camera after tightening everything up.

The green cube is cheap and dead easy to use and get level in portrait or landscape orientation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.