The Girl with the Faraway Eyes

We have spent eight hours on the road over the last 24 hrs. A meeting in Somerset this morning meant a very, very early start. Now, I am not the best in the morning and the early start combined with this wretched cold made me feel very foul tempered! There is something about the West Country though. As soon as the beautiful rollling green hills dotted with black and white cows came into view I could just feel my mood changing. It really is the most beautiful place.

We finally managed to have our visit with the family of my second oldest god child. They have moved back to England after 14 years abroad. First Spain and then five years in Cape Town. The still live too far away )not far from Wells in Somerset) but they have finallly found their dream home. A gorgeous old farm house with endless uninterupted views. It was in the most awful state when they found it. Even the bank warned them off. But my friend Lizbeth is a visionary. She can always spot a gem and they have turned it into the lightest ,airiest, most zen home yet. Everything is done in neutrals, grey, stone, wood and linen. It was the perfect lighting for portraits and believe me a took a few. Liz finally has her north facing studio, a large room with a view of the hills and perfect subtle lighting. She is the most wonderful artist. Her speciality is portraits but she can turn her hand at most mediums. Without even trying! I am very lucky to own several pieces of her work. A wonderful collage of the New York skyline was given to us for our wedding anniversary and she did a beautiful portrait of my boy (her godson) when he was much younger.

This is the sister of my Godson Max. She is named Olivia but she is called Lily, or Lil by those who love her most. She has turned into the loveliest young women. She was a very trickly little girl. Forceful and tempermental and prone to extreme tantrums. We laugh about it these days but there were times when her mother and I thought about selling her on the open market! Now she is sweetness and light and very funny to be around.

Sometimes when I spend time around these impossibly lovely young people I wonder why they don't seem to be plagued with frizzy, greasy hair and spots. I mean, isn't that what teenage years are supposed to look like?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.