The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Don't mess with me

A long time ago back in the winter I promised DawnC to blip a nuthatch. It's taken until now to get a half decent shot of one, and a rather impressionistic view at that. This does show the character trait of the bird, that when perched on something vertical it tends to point downwards and often works its way down a tree trunk.

The treecreeper by contrast starts at the base of a trunk and works its way upwards. We can speculate what happens if they ever meet in the middle, but I suggest the treecreeper will come off worst. Nuthatches have a large pointy bill, and they are not averse to using it to displace other birds from feeding stations. Smaller birds don't mess with nuthatches.

This one was taken from out of the window at work. We have a couple of birds regularly visiting the feeders at the moment.

Apologies to all those kind people that comment on my journal, I'm way behind with commenting. I was worn out yesterday after the stress of trying to upload all those photos to the AONB competition. I may be the only Arnside blipper (that I know of), but there's a lot of keen photographers around here, some of whom are exceptionally good. So we'll see how it goes, the judging won't be till the end of September, by which time everyone here will have forgotten about it, and I can keep quiet if I get nowhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.