Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Gramma, I'm not Sleepy!

This afternoon I did my best to convince little Tristan, our 4-year-old great grandson, that a nap was necessary. Ultimately, his verdict on the event won. He never went to sleep. I do think I did, but it was such a short snooze that I don't remember. I had laid down on the opposite end of the bed from him, so he would stay on the bed. I thought he'd chatter his way to "Sleepy Land" but never did.

This was our last afternoon with him. Our daughter had brought him to Sunday School on her way to work, so after the worship celebration was over, I went to the classroom to get him. He hugged his teachers, Miss Jo and Miss Kay, goodbye and then we brought him home to our place.

Once we arrived, he hugged the dogs, played with the toys that he had been given at Sunday School, and then wanted to play a game of Checkers with me on my iPad. He absolutely loves the iPad. If he doesn't like a move I have made, he pushes the "un-do" button and I just sit there laughing.

He also loves my "point and shoot camera." Today I carefully explained the little square box that appears on the viewing screen when he slightly presses the click button. Quickly he was focusing and taking better photos and talking about the "rectangle" on the screen.

We've had so much fun with him. We have filled six weeks with quality time with him and have done many memorable activities together. I wish I would have taken him for more walks in the stroller. He loved going in the stroller. I could write a litany of things I wish I had done, but mostly I'm just so glad for all that we did do. I love him more than my words can convey.

I am thankful for Blipfoto -- for the opportunity of capturing so much of our "Tristan Summer" here on the pages of my journal. He'll never be 4-years-old again, but he will always be 4-years-old here on these Blip pages of June/July 2011. AND I will come back and revisit these photos and words often.

We were suppose to spend a week with Tristan's mom, Desiree, but she bumped into some obstacles and was here for only one afternoon/evening today and the family did have dinner together and then dessert at the frozen yogurt shop. Their plane leaves here in the morning at 8:00. Desiree reports back to work at FedEx Tuesday. So we'll spend time with her on some future days and we hope that next summer she will get to join us for a week at family camp.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Tristan), aka Carol

P.S. The photo reveals his bruised forehead from a bump on the playground equipment this past Friday. We kidded him that we hoped we wouldn't have to pay for the dent in the pole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.