Still Alive

By rinkkasatiainen

Kära Markus

back-blipped on Aug 2nd 2011

On our way home. In the Archipelago, from Utö to Pärnas, there are 11 billboards like this. They all contain a letter from a selection of intellectuals from Finland to a little boy named 'Markus'.

The reason for these billboard is stated in a book 'Rakas Markus / Kära Markus / Dear Markus':
"During my research process, after spending a few days in Utö, I took the ferry to return to Turku. The ferry leaves Utö at 5.45AM. Intrigued, I asked the captain to explain why the boat has to leave so early. He asked me to come with him and took me to the large empty seating area where a lonely young boy was seated, sleeping. He pointed to him and explained that he has to reach school by 9.45AM. I was extremely moved by his answer. That emotion has remained with me ever since"

11 letters to this little boy.

Ain't life full of surprises.

This one's in Jurmö

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.