New Project...

Do you know what a perfectly tuned 12 string guitar sounds like? It's lovely. The single notes and chords just ring and sing out. The problem is that if even one string is slightly off, it can affect the whole sound.

I found an Android application that does a full 12 string guitar tuning but it only had a standard tuning. A 12 string guitar is tuned exactly the same as a standard 6 string but the has two strings tuned to the same note, sometimes an octave apart, for every one string on a standard guitar. I tune my 12 string down two steps to make it less prone to snapped strings and easier on the fingers so I had to work around it to get my tuning from it.

I actually wrote a online guitar tuner a few years ago and always meant to extend it to do 12 string guitars but never got round to it. I'm pretty sure I could manage an Android 12 string tuner for my dropped D tuning and that is now my night time time wasting activity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.