Pheenyx's View

By PheenyxFyre

New Staff

This is my latest creation for my inventory of staves. This is the first one completed with a new finish I have been working on. I learned the (very) basics of it from a very nice man who makes wooden flutes. We were standing in the rain, talking about wood working while at a Ren. Faire. He had them out in the rain with out any concern for them. They had been carried by him for years in all weather and situations and they still look that good, there must be something to it. He uses it to treat and preserve his flutes. They were magnificently beautiful, I would love to have one just to look at. Much like my staves, a functional work of art. He told me the ingredients, and the rough proportions, I had to work out the details myself but that is what makes it mine. I am sure it is not exactly the same as his but i wouldn't want it to be. The finish is 100% natural, waterproof, and when done right, looks like there is not a finish on them.
The Staves I make are functional, not decorative show pieces. One of the greatest feelings I get is returning to someplace where I have sold them, and to see people still using them, seeing how they have changed and personalized them. Seeing my art in use. That is validation enough to continue making them and selling them at quite reasonable prices. The price of one staff can buy me enough ingredients to make dozens more. Yes I do like a profit, but I think I like seeing them in use even more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.