This is Kristina's Life

By kristinaj

Hello, little guy...

Today was supposed to be a "lay day" because no one else in my family wanted to go out except for me and majority won. It started off pretty low key: I lay out on the hammock, went for a dip, came back inside, boring boring. The next thing I know Karin comes running up the path, up the steps and the door flies open. "SHARK! There's a SHARK in the water," she exclaims.

We all bolt out hoping to catch a glimpse of this unwanted visitor, but it was long gone. Hopefully forever. Nevertheless, the damage was done. When we took the boat to the restaurant nearby, I asked the waiter about what sort of sharks there would be on the island. Nurse sharks usually, some reef sharks, occasionally a tiger or bull shark. "Which ones do I need to get the hell out of the water when I see them?" I ask. Bull and tiger shark. Fine.

I've been taking some pretty decent shots with my new underwater camera case and I was determined to post one today. The problem with that being that I'd have to get back in the water. When we get back, the tide was as low as it could be and there were two local boys jumping off a nearby dock and goofing around. If they could do it so could I--although I used some ridiculous precautions: I lay my stomach and legs on top of two inflatable doughnut floaties and was careful to only stick my face in the water. Oh and I was only in about a foot of water. Needless to say, I didn't get any decent underwater pictures for today's post. I did, however, get stung by something in only a foot of water. Quite pathetic.

Today's post is of my sister's new little friend. I also found two little friends of my own in the house today: more of those damned lizards.

Not sure what's going to happen with Tropical Storm Emily. We're supposed to leave the house by 10AM Saturday because someone else has rented it. Somehow I don't see much moving around on Saturday as that's the day Emily is scheduled to hit the Bahamas. We'll see....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.